Skip to content

Welcome to Big Love

From the Introduction by Adele Hulse, Big Love author:

“Welcome to Big Love, the biography of Lama Thubten Yeshe. This is the story of a Buddhist monk who changed our lives forever.  He taught us how to live, raise our children and die. He also taught us how to engage the unlimited potential of our minds in order to be of service to others.

In 1976 Lama Thubten Yeshe told me I was ‘a writer’, and that I should write for him.  I always enjoyed reading and words, but never had the confidence to consider myself ‘a writer’ until then.  At Lama’s request I began editing one of his teachings, and when that was finished wondered what to do next.  The only thing on my mind was to work for Lama Yeshe.

In 1977 I began importing into Australia some of the few books available in English on Tibetan Buddhism, published mostly by the Library of Tibetan Works and Archives in Dharamsala, and Lama Yeshe’s new imprint, Publications for Wisdom Culture.

While running a fashion import business, again for Lama Yeshe’s organization, The Foundation for the Preservation of the Mahayana Tradition, I made a connection with The Age, Melbourne’s broadsheet daily newspaper.  I began writing occasional feature stories and in 1984 was offered a column.

Suddenly I felt this was my chance to write ‘for Lama’ because you can say anything in a column.  I began trickling Buddhist teachings through my work, which I wrote under a pseudonym.  By 2008 the column had been running for twenty-five years.

In 1992 Peter Kedge offered me the job of writing Lama’s biography, and his financial backing to travel the world and interview hundreds of Lama’s colleagues and students.  Initially, we thought it would take eighteen months, but that turned out to be eighteen years.  Peter has been a constant backstop and support to me throughout this time. As a foundation member of the Board of FPMT Inc and many years as Lama Yeshe’s attendant, his insights are invaluable and his dedication extraordinary.  This book would not exist without Peter.

I am quite sure there are many important stories about Lama that have not been told.  Lama Yeshe Wisdom Archive would love to hear them.  Also, there is no doubt that I will have made mistakes in this work. I urgently request those who can identify these to please direct corrections to the Lama Yeshe Wisdom Archive.”

One Comment Post a comment
  1. I have now read all the blog posts, backwards! Very fascinating!

    July 13, 2013

Leave a Reply

